December 22, 2012
Caltech Professor Frances Arnold was awarded the National Medal of Technology and Innovation for her pioneering work on directed evolution. The White House made the announcement on December 21, 2012.
November 28, 2012
Professor Frank Doyle’s group at UCSB is pioneering an artificial pancreas system, after 20 years of research into insulin delivery using an algorithm normally deployed in oil refineries.
November 26, 2012
They say that the eyes are the windows to the soul. However, to get a real idea of what a person is up to, according to UC Santa Barbara researchers Miguel Eckstein and Matt Peterson, the best place to check is right below the eyes. Their findings are published in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Science.
November 20, 2012
Researchers at UCSB, led by professors Carl Meinhart of mechanical engineering and Martin Moskovits of chemistry, have designed a detector that uses microfluidic nanotechnology to mimic the biological mechanism behind canine scent receptors.
September 11, 2012
Professor Hawker has been named recipient of the ACS Award in Polymer Chemistry. The award citation states that Hawker was nominated for transforming the field of polymer chemistry through the clever adaptation of synthetic organic chemistry concepts and the advancement of macromolecular engineering. ExxonMobil Chemical Company sponsored this award.
January 19, 2012
The Santa Barbara Chamber of Commerce named Chemical Engineering Professor Frank Doyle, Innovator of the Year on January 19, 2012 for his work on artificial pancreas technology.
September 26, 2011
Professor Pennathur is among 94 individuals across the country to receive the Presidential Early Career Award, which recognize recipients' exceptional potential for leadership at the frontiers of scientific knowledge, and their commitment to community service.
February 28, 2011
ICB Director and researcher, Francis J. Doyle III, has been selected as one of Eight UCSB faculty members to receive the distinction of Fellow by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Election as a Fellow is an honor bestowed on AAAS members by their peers.
February 1, 2011
James A. "Jamie" Thomson, co-director of regenerative biology for UC Santa Barbara's Center for Stem Cell Biology and Engineering, has been named a co-winner of the 2011 King Faisal International Prize for Medicine.
January 4, 2011
The engineering profession's highest honors for 2011, presented by the National Academy of Engineering (NAE), recognize three achievements that led to developments in guiding cell evolution, sequencing the human genome, and better preparing students for the engineering work force.